Trade versus aid: Peanut edition

There are a handful of boys who sell peanuts wrapped up in a cone of paper on Peponi Road. The kids sell them for 5 shillings each and once you’ve bought off them once you’re pretty much a customer for life. It took less than a week for all of them to know my name and it’s a lot harder to say no when they yell out ‘Steve’ every time I pass.

It didn’t take long for them to start charging me 10 bob for one packet. Sometimes 20. Now they just take my money and keep the peanuts. The other day I was actually quite hungry. Kevin, the eldest of the boys, looked a bit surprised when I asked if I could have the peanuts I’d paid for.

Leave a Reply

